Friday, May 20, 2011

Fallin Names Six To Tourism Commission

Governor Fallin today announced six appointments to the Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation Commission.

The governor appointed Julie Jacobs Daniels, Xavier Niera, Dr. Rick Henry, Charles Perry, Ronda Roush and T.L. Walker.  The nominees were confirmed by the Oklahoma State Senate on Wednesday. 

“Our abundant natural resources, exciting recreational activities and rich cultural heritage all contribute to our vibrant tourism industry,” Fallin said.  “Travel and tourism play a vital role in our economy and contribute to job creation and tax revenues all across our state. The nominees for the Tourism Commission are experienced and talented individuals and will serve our state well by promoting travel and tourism.”

Julie Jacobs Daniels of Bartlesville is a longtime community volunteer.  She previously served as mayor of Bartlesville and as a member of the city council. She also served on the Oklahoma Centennial Commemoration Commission. Daniels is vice president of the Boys and Girls Club of Bartlesville and serves on the board of the Bartlesville Regional Chamber of Commerce. She previously served on the board of the Samaritan Counseling and Growth Center, the Bluestem Medical Development Foundation, the Service League of Bartlesville and the YWCA of Bartlesville. Daniels earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of Oklahoma and a law degree from the University of Tulsa. She is serving a four-year term representing the First Congressional District. She is replacing Amy Regan.

Xavier Neira of Norman is the Oklahoma director of development at Manhattan Construction Company.  Neira also is a longtime community volunteer. He serves on the boards of the Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools, Oklahoma City Educare, Central Oklahoma Big Brothers and Big Sisters, the Regional Food Bank of Oklahoma, the Downtown Rotary Club and the Greater Oklahoma City Chamber of Commerce. Previously, Neira served on the advisory board for the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City, as a board member for the Tulsa Metro YMCA, on the board of Leadership Tulsa and as chairman of the board at the State Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. Neira is a graduate of Texas A&M University. He is serving a six-year term as the representative of the Fourth Congressional District.  He is replacing Rebecca Switzer.

Dr. Rick Henry of Altus is a dentist and operates Val Verde Dental Associates.  He is a member of the Altus City Council and serves on the Altus Southwest Area Economic Development Corporation and the Altus Military Affairs Committee. He is a member of the Altus Chamber of Commerce, the Southwest Oklahoma Dental Association, the Oklahoma Dental Association, the American Dental Association and the American Orthodontic Society.
Henry earned a bachelor’s degree from Southwestern Oklahoma State University and a medical degree in dental surgery from the University of Oklahoma College of Dentistry. He is serving a three-year term and represents the Third Congressional District. He is replacing Jason Glidewell.

Chuck Perry of Grove is a real estate broker and operates ReMax Grand Lake.  He is a member of the National Association of Realtors, the Oklahoma Association of Realtors and the Northeast Oklahoma Board of Realtors. He is a member of the Grove Rotary Club, the Grove Chamber of Commerce, the Grand Lake Chamber of Commerce and is a board member of the Grand Lake Association. He also helped found the Grove Educational Foundation for Excellence. Perry will serve as an at-large member and his term will expire in 2013. He is replacing Frank Sims.

Ronda Roush of Tulsa owns and operates Ronda Roush Studios, a porcelain artwork studio. She is a member of International Porcelain Painters and her works have been selected for use as commemorative giftware by various national organizations. She previously served in the Tulsa Boy’s Home Auxiliary and the Junior League of Tulsa. She also was among the group of citizens who started the Friends of the Mansion program. Roush earned a bachelor of fine arts degree from the University of Oklahoma. She will serve a term as an at-large member expiring in 2014. She is replacing Tony Benson.

T.L. Walker of Ponca City has been reappointed to the Oklahoma Tourism Commission. She is executive director of both the Standing Bear Native American Foundation and Northern Oklahoma College’s Tribal Institute. Walker is a member of the Ponca City Tourism Authority, the Ponca City Centennial Committee, the Oklahoma Outdoor Drama Association and on the executive board at Pioneer Women’s Financial Group.
Walker will serve as an at-large member and her term will expire in 2012.

Share |