Thursday, January 6, 2011

Doak Names 10 To Staff; Ex-Legislators Randy Brogdon, Owen Laughlin, Mike Thompson Included

Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner-Elect John Doak today announced the names of 10 individuals who will staff his office. Included are three former legislators.

Named by Doak were Mike Rhoads as Deputy Commissioner of Health Insurance; Denise Engle as Deputy Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation; former Senator Randy Brogdon as Deputy Commissioner of Consumer Affairs and Fraud, and Senior Advocate; Paul Wilkening as Deputy Commissioner of Administration; former Senator Owen Laughlin as Deputy Commissioner of Legal Affairs; Joel Sander as Deputy Commissioner of Finance; former Rep. Mike Thompson as Deputy Commissioner of Government and Public Affairs; Dr. Rick Farmer as Assistant Commissioner of Government Affairs, Public Policy and Communications; Ellen Caslavka Edwards as Assistant General Counsel; and James Mills as Assistant to the Commissioner.

The Doak administration will include the state's first-ever deputy commissioners of health insurance (Rhoads), workers' compensation, including reform (Engle), and fraud and senior services (Brogdon).

Through these consumer-related focuses and other agency reforms, Doak believes Oklahoma will become nationally recognized for regulations that are both business- and consumer-friendly, as the state's insurance industry evolves to better serve every Oklahoman.

“As Oklahoma’s next Insurance Commissioner, I am focused on protecting and serving Oklahomans,” Doak said. “The combined experience of these individuals will enhance the efficiency of the Oklahoma Insurance Department and allow it to make large strides on major issues such as workers' compensation reform.”

Share |