Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Legislative Exchange Council Honors Glenn Coffee

The American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC) has given outgoing Senate President Pro Tem Glenn Coffee the highest honor that a setting Legislator can receive from the organization, a "Legislator of the Year" award.

Coffee was presented with the award by the ALEC at its 37th Annual Meeting, held in San Diego, CA. Nearly 1,500 state legislators, policy experts, and private-sector leaders from across the United States attended three days of intensive discussions on the critical issues facing the states and our nation.

The award is given to state legislators who are ALEC members in good standing and have distinguished themselves by advancing, introducing, and/or enacting policies based on the fundamental Jeffersonian principles of free markets, limited government, federalism, and individual liberty.

The award has been won by only one other Oklahoma legislator, Rep. Mary Fallin in 1993 when she served in the Oklahoma House or Representatives for four years.

Fallin, who is now the Republican nominee for Governor of Oklahoma stated, “I am glad to see that ALEC has recognized a great Oklahoma Legislator in Glenn Coffee for his work in the Oklahoma State Senate on important issues like lawsuit reform and many others in the Jeffersonian principles of free markets.”

ALEC has also been led by an Oklahoman, former Senator Jim Dunlap, who served as the National Chairman of ALEC in 2002 while Coffee was in his first term. Dunlap commented, “ALEC has made a great decision in honoring Senator Glenn Coffee with the Legislator of the Year award and he is well-deserving.”

Share |