Monday, January 3, 2011

Democrats Name Senate Leaders

The Senate Democratic Caucus announced the remainder of its leadership team today.

“I was so honored that my colleagues chose me to lead our caucus. It is a tremendous privilege and I’m grateful for this opportunity,” said Senator Andrew Rice, leader of the Caucus. “I’m looking forward to working with our colleagues on the other side of the aisle to create public policy that will help strengthen our state’s economy and help move Oklahoma forward.”

Rice will succeed Senator Charles Laster of Shawnee who has served as Senate Democratic Leader since 2008.

The remainder of the Democratic Leadership team includes: Caucus Chairman: Caucus Vice Chair: Sen. Tom Ivester Sen. Susan Paddack; Assistant Minority Floor Leaders: Democratic Whips: Sen. Sean Burrage Sen. Earl Garrison Sen. Roger Ballenger Sen. Judy Eason McIntyre Sen. John Sparks Sen. Charles Wyrick.

“We have a tough legislative session ahead of us facing yet another significant budget shortfall, but we must not lose sight of the many other important issues that need addressing in order to better our state,” said Rice. “I’m confident that this leadership team, with its strong balance of rural, suburban and urban senators, will be a tremendous asset to the Senate, and to the citizens who elected us. We will work hard in a bipartisan manner to ensure that those citizens’ voices are heard and their needs are addressed in a fair, professional, and effective manner.”

Members of the Senate will officially vote on all of the leadership positions when they convene at noon on Tuesday for a constitutionally-mandated organizational day.

Share |